The samurai (or bushi) were members of the military class of Japanese warriors.

They were men and women highly skilled in martial arts. They fought with a range of weapons, including the bow and arrow, the spear and hand-to-hand combat, but their most famous weapon and the symbol of their power was the sword.

The samurai lived their lives by the concepts of honour and pride and the code of bushido.

Learn more about the samurai from the author…


Bushido means ‘Way of The Warrior’ and is a Japanese code of conduct similar to the European concept of chivalry

Bushido is essentially the unwritten code of moral principles which the samurai were required or instructed to observe.

The core tenets of Bushido date from as early as the 12th century and are still in use and respected today within many dojos and Japan.

Learn about the seven virtues of bushido with the author…

Be A Samurai!

Having proved himself adept at using a bokken (wooden sword) in combat, Jack Fletcher is invited by Masamoto to train at his Niten Ichi Ryu, the ‘One School Of Two Heavens’ in Kyoto.

It is here Jack learns the skills and techniques necessary to be a samurai warrior:

Kenjutsu – The Art of the Sword
Taijutsu – The Art of the Body
Kyujutsu – The Art of the Bow

You too can train in the modern versions of these arts and many other martial disciplines. Every country in the world has developed its own form of martial art and there are now hundreds of different styles to choose from. It is important, therefore, that you find a style that appeals to you and suits your personal philosophy. Whether your goal is to learn self-defence, build confidence or to stay fit, martial arts will sharpen your body and your mind. 

A comprehensive list of styles can be found at:

Chris Bradford’s Top Five Martial Arts Tips…

© Chris Bradford 2021